Holding Hands

image

I am an unabashed lover of teenage years. My playlists read like I’m stuck in a John Hughes movie. I own all of Twilight and those Divergent Books and all John Green has ever written. It speaks to me. It speaks really of a time when youthful exuberance is mixed with this naive awe at the world along with the depth of feeling that I know fades with time. But to be in it is glorious.

Today, all the High Schools in Gush Etzion stood together and made a human chain. It went from Tzomet Gush Etzion and stretched all the way to Kfar Etzion. The chain passed right where Dalya Lamkus had been killed a week ago. It passed by the bus stop where their classmates had been kidnapped and murdered in June.

I took my dog and my friends and went to watch. When you watch 1000 kids from around the Gush gather together and hold hands and be beautiful and young and caring and invested in parts of a really sad reality, you can’t help but feel swept up in the moment. And these 1000 kids are just kids. Their hair is curly, their skirts are too short or too long. They have insecurities and fears. And they dance around trying to figure out how to stand in a line of 1000 friends. And it takes awhile to figure out how not to bunch together in some place and be stretched out in others. But they figure it out. Because at a certain moment it all comes together. And they stop fidgeting and giggling and being adorably teen to say tehillim, to listen to Dalya’s sister speak and they become mini-grown ups well aware of issues far beyond their years. I’m so happy that they are holding each others hands.

 

 

1 Comment

  1. This is beautiful. I wish I had the opportunity to see it. I study in Jerusalem

Leave a Reply

